• Welcome to Westlake Publishing Forums.

News:

REGARDING MEMBERSHIP ON THIS FORUM: Due to spam, our server has disabled the forum software to gain membership. The only way to become a new member is for you to send me a private e-mail with your preferred screen name (we prefer you use your real name, or some variant there-of), and email adress you would like to have associated with the account.  -- Send the information to:  Russ at finescalerr@msn.com

Main Menu

editing images on Mac with PREVIEW

Started by Bill Gill, June 19, 2020, 05:28:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bill Gill

I'm not an expert with this, but I use PREVIEW to size photos for posting here. PREVIEW is the default application on a Mac for image editing. Unless you have deliberately set up another application for editing as your default, it will automatically open in PREVIEW when you click on a thumbnail image.

(I don't know how to mix photos and text within a single post on this forum, so what will follow will be an awkward series of replies, each with a single image and acompanying text. Please bear with me on this, it will take a bit to get them all in)

Bill Gill

There are a few ways to open PREVIEW
1. The simplest is click on a photo thumbnail to open it. That's what I do when I want to size a photo for the forum. When you do you should see this at the left end of the toolbar on the top of your screen (See the first, very skinny, toolbar image below.It's just above the PREVIW icon)

2. The DOCK (the bar with the applications you use most often on Mac) has an icon for PREVIEW that looks like a photo of a rocky shore with a magnifying Loupe on part of it. Below is that icon and my DOCK showing the icon -yours probably has applications in a different order. The skinny DOCK image is below the PREVIEW icon)

Bill Gill

Click on TOOLS and you get a drop down menu that I can't take a screen shot of.