• Welcome to Westlake Publishing Forums.

News:

REGARDING MEMBERSHIP ON THIS FORUM: Due to spam, our server has disabled the forum software to gain membership. The only way to become a new member is for you to send me a private e-mail with your preferred screen name (we prefer you use your real name, or some variant there-of), and email adress you would like to have associated with the account.  -- Send the information to:  Russ at finescalerr@msn.com

Main Menu

Forum upgraded

Started by Oldiesmann, June 27, 2022, 11:44:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Oldiesmann

First, let me introduce myself here. My name is Michael Eshom and I'm an amateur web developer/tech enthusiast from Cincinnati, Ohio. I am also an expert with this forum system, having been involved in the project in one way or another since it started over a decade ago. Though I'm no longer on any official teams (due to lack of time), I still run several forums of my own and help out with other things related to SMF as I have time. I got in touch with Russ and offered to upgrade the forum for him since the old version was extremely out of date.

The upgrade brings about a ton of changes:
New theme that adapts to fit screens of all sizes, including cell phones and tablets
Ability to use Gravatar avatars
Better handling of times - instead of setting a time offset, you can now choose your timezone (that should have been converted automatically)
Ability to display attached images directly within the post
Ability to "like" posts
Ability to mention other members in posts - just type "@" followed by the first few letters of their name and click the appropriate one from the list
Ability to embed YouTube videos in your post

Notifications system - be notified about replies to your posts, when people like your posts, etc. The default settings can be configured by clicking your username in the upper left corner and then clicking "Notifications"