• Welcome to Westlake Publishing Forums.

News:

REGARDING MEMBERSHIP ON THIS FORUM: Due to spam, our server has disabled the forum software to gain membership. The only way to become a new member is for you to send me a private e-mail with your preferred screen name (we prefer you use your real name, or some variant there-of), and email adress you would like to have associated with the account.  -- Send the information to:  Russ at finescalerr@msn.com

Main Menu

Modeling dents in (plastic) steel plate.....

Started by trisonic, May 30, 2010, 07:42:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

trisonic

Anyone care to share their techniques?

I'm a newb here so if this has been covered before please point me to the right thread and I'll delete this one, many thanks.

Best Pete.
Street
Light
Interference

eTraxx

How deep are the dents? Marc Reusser used a Dremel w/round headed bit to make dents in a muffler. Beyond that where the steel plate is actually deformed you will either have to use heat to actually deform the plastic. That's 'iffy' as you can easily ruin whatever you are working with. If you were for example working with a structure 'welded' from plates you could replace the 'dented' plate with a piece of thin plastic .. .010 which would be much easier to deform safely.
Ed Traxler

Lugoff, Camden & Northern RR

Socrates: "I drank WHAT?"

trisonic

I was thinking of 1:48 scale gondola's and boxcars - very few examples are perfect (after a couple of days).
Apologies for not being specific before. I realize that by judicious weathering they can appear battered and used but it's not the same. That's why I thought to consult with the experts.

Best, Pete.
Street
Light
Interference

DaKra

Something I've experimented with, but not yet built into a finished model-- make a resin casting of the part.   The resin I use, probably typically, remains soft and pliable for a long time after its demolded, an hour or more.   It can be easily dented and bent and distorted.   

Dave