• Welcome to Westlake Publishing Forums.

News:

REGARDING MEMBERSHIP ON THIS FORUM: Due to spam, our server has disabled the forum software to gain membership. The only way to become a new member is for you to send me a private e-mail with your preferred screen name (we prefer you use your real name, or some variant there-of), and email adress you would like to have associated with the account.  -- Send the information to:  Russ at finescalerr@msn.com

Main Menu

Any Suggestions on New Camera?

Started by Tyler V, September 16, 2017, 05:04:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

finescalerr

Today I think the big draw of Adobe is that it's the de facto tool for anyone who needs to exchange raw data or run something through two or three programs.

Now that I've spent more than a few minutes with Affinity I think it is top notch. As a stand-alone photographer I can't think of a reason why it would be inferior to Photoshop and, as I said above, it's actually better in some ways. But if I were a corporate oriented graphic artist and needed Lightroom, Illustrator, Premier (for video), and InDesign in my workflow, I might be stuck with Adobe.

For guys who just want top results, I can recommend Affinity Photo and, for video, DaVinci Resolve's free(!) version, as superb tools with no practical drawbacks. Because of that, Adobe already is losing appeal worldwide.

Russ

1-32

great shay Russ I remember them was it, Roger Russel.?
cheers kim

finescalerr

Good memory, Kim, but Roger didn't build this one. He has built others, though. Here's the background:

Robert A.M. Stephens built that 1:32n3 Shay. Bob sold it to Roger but Roger sent to back to Bob for some reason. Roger says Bob then demolished the (better looking) cab, replaced it with what you see, and kept it.