• Welcome to Westlake Publishing Forums.

News:

REGARDING MEMBERSHIP ON THIS FORUM: Due to spam, our server has disabled the forum software to gain membership. The only way to become a new member is for you to send me a private e-mail with your preferred screen name (we prefer you use your real name, or some variant there-of), and email adress you would like to have associated with the account.  -- Send the information to:  Russ at finescalerr@msn.com

Main Menu

"buttermilk" paint

Started by chester, April 30, 2008, 06:42:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chester

My first post here. I recognize quite a few names of a prestigious nature and feel somewhat intimidated but I thought this product might be of interest. I build reproduction furniture and have been using a powdered paint that is referred to as buttermilk paint (  http://www.vandykes.com/product/02228618/  ) to achieve my milk paint finishes. I've been modeling in 1/87 scale for many years but it never occurred to use them for my hobby. The photo below is of a board on board structure that I stained with a driftwood oil based wood stain similar to what you might buy from outfits like Minwax. I don't let the stain completely dry out and then I mix the milk paint quite thin (about 1 tsp. to a pint) and paint it on. Allow this to completely dry and then you can manipulate it with steel wool or what I prefer, a buffing pad. Just a little work with some artists chalks gave me the results you see below. Please advise if I have not posted the photo properly.

John McGuyer

Excellent effects. Thank you for the information.

John

marc_reusser

Hi Chester,

Welcome to the forum. Nice to see you posting.

Interesting idea, and nice effect. Once dry does the B-M paint stay "cured", or is it like Egg-Tempra, and reactivates when it gets wetted again later with water?

Marc
I am an unreliable witness to my own existence.

In the corners of my mind there is a circus....

M-Works

finescalerr